About Moi



Valence, France in Summer 2014

Hey guys! I’m Maggie: Florida State University grad, married to a Frenchman, and mom to baby French Fry and an Australian Shepherd (the fluffiest thing you’ve ever seen). I enjoy reading, being outdoors, drinking tea & writing letters, all things Disney, fall and springtime, the Olympics, and nerdy things. I also like going on adventures!

Macarons & Paperbacks used to be An American In France. Since I moved back to the States in 2014, I changed my blog name to better fit my situation. The macarons represent my love for France and for baking; the paperbacks is for my hobby as a reader and book blogger. My blog’s banner was made by yours truly :) I love dabbling in Photoshop.

Currently my little family is residing in Wilmington, NC, a beautiful and eclectic town that we have absolutely fallen in love with. If you’ve never heard of it, I guarantee that you’ve seen it in a film or tv show (Iron Man 3, Dawson’s Creek, One Tree Hill, most Nicholas Sparks movies, just to name a few).

For the moment I’m working as a part-time secretary. I enjoy being able to split my time between working, blogging/reading, and being with my sweet little man. One of my biggest dreams is to work at a library, but right now I’m content with volunteering on the weekends.

Here are other ways you can connect with me:





Here’s my blog button if you’d like to post it to your own blog!

19 thoughts on “About Moi

  1. For a second there, i thought I was reading about me!
    “I enjoy reading, arts & crafts, all things Disney, fall and winter time, the Olympics, and nerdy things” is basically a summary of my life! Can I stress the Disney part please?
    Hope you’re enjoying Grenoble! My mom got her PhD from there and she said it was amazing!

    Looking forward to be part of the Wuthering Heights discussion!

  2. Hi Maggie!

    I’m so thankful I found your blog when I Googled “working for Les Petits Bilingues”. I an looking into potentially working part-time for Les Petits Bilingues when I move to Ile-de-France (on a student visa) in September with my French fiance. I am American and have been living in Israel for the past year where I am a private English teacher for 4-8 year olds. Hope you don’t mind if I pick your brain a bit:

    How do you like working for Les Petits Bilingues? Are you part-time or full time? If I may ask, what do you earn per hour? or per month? Did you find that simply being a native speaker of English was what got you hired? Or what other factors did they consider?

    Thanks in advance and looking forward to hearing back from you!


    P.S. Grenoble is where hub-to-be and I eventually want to settle down ;D

    • Hello Monica!

      So sorry for the late reply! I am a part-time employee at Les Petits Bilingues (all of the teachers are), but the schedule is very flexible. The salary depends on the type of lessons you teach. For group lessons it’s around 13€/hr and for private lessons it’s around 16€/hr. The center I work at only hires native English speakers, and I also had previous experience working with young children. If you are already an English teacher you should have no problem getting hired.

      If you do end up moving to Grenoble, I’m sure you will love it! It’s a beautiful city and I love the people and the culture here :)

  3. Pingback: Sisterhood Of The World Bloggers Award | The Lit Mermaid

  4. Pingback: Emoji Book Tag | Zezee with Books

  5. Pingback: Rabbit Ears Productions Club #3: What Book do you want to read for March? | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog

Leave a Reply to Maggie @ An American in France Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s